12312312
  • HK STES TECHNOLOGY CO., LIMITED
  • amazon
  • newegg
  • HK STES TECHNOLOGY CO., LIMITED
  • HK STES TECHNOLOGY CO., LIMITED
Back Home News Industry Trends

Introduction and Advantages and Disadvantages Analysis of Solid State Hard Disk and Mechanical Hard Disk

Date:November 10th,2023 View:37 Tags:Solid State Drive
What is a solid-state drive< Br/>


Solid State Disk or Solid State Drive (SSD), commonly known as a solid-state drive< Br/>


Solid state hard drives are hard drives made from solid-state electronic storage chip arrays< Br/>


It is named after the term 'Solid' in Taiwanese English for solid capacitors. SSD consists of a control unit and a storage unit (FLASH chip, DRAM chip)< Br/>


Solid state hard drives are identical to ordinary hard drives in terms of interface specifications, definitions, functions, and usage methods, and in terms of product appearance and dimensions, they are basically the same as ordinary hard drives (emerging solid-state hard drives in the forms of U2, M.2, etc. have completely different dimensions and appearances from SATA mechanical hard drives).
nine hundred


It is widely used in military, vehicle, industrial control, video surveillance, network monitoring, network terminals, power, medical, aviation, navigation equipment and many other fields< Br/>


The working temperature range of chips is large, with commercial products (0-70 ℃) and industrial products (-40-85 ℃). Although the cost is high, it is being popularized in the DIY market< Br/>


Due to the differences in technology between solid-state drives and traditional hard drives, many emerging memory manufacturers have emerged. Manufacturers only need to purchase NAND particles, equip them with appropriate control chips, and write the main controller code to manufacture solid-state drives< Br/>


The new generation of solid-state drives generally adopts SATA-2 interface, SATA-3 interface, SAS interface, MSATA interface, PCI-E interface, M.2 interface, CFast interface, SFF-8639 interface, and NVME/AHCI protocol< Br/>


What is a mechanical hard drive< Br/>


Mechanical hard disk is a traditional ordinary hard disk, mainly composed of several parts: disk, magnetic head, disk spindle and control motor, magnetic head controller, data converter, interface, cache, etc< Br/>


The magnetic head can move along the radius direction of the disk, and with the high-speed rotation of the disk at several thousand revolutions per minute, the magnetic head can be positioned at the designated position of the disk for data reading and writing operations. Information is written to a magnetic disk through a magnetic head located very close to the magnetic surface, and the polarity is changed by electromagnetic current. The information can be read in the opposite way. As a precision device, hard drives are the enemy of dust, so the air entering the hard drive must be filtered< Br/>


All the disks in a mechanical hard disk are mounted on a rotating axis, and each disk is parallel. There is a magnetic head on the storage surface of each disk, and the distance between the magnetic head and the disk is only 0.1μ M~0.5μ m. The higher level has reached 0.005μ M~0.01μ m. All magnetic heads are connected to a magnetic head controller, which is responsible for the movement of each magnetic head< Br/>


Comparison of advantages and disadvantages between mechanical hard drives and solid-state hard drives



1. Shock resistance and drop resistance: Mechanical hard drives are all disk type, and data is stored in the disk sector. And solid-state drives are made using flash memory particles (such as memory, MP3, USB drives, and other storage media), so there are no mechanical components inside SSD solid-state drives. This way, even when moving at high speeds or accompanied by flipping and tilting, it will not affect normal use, and can minimize the possibility of data loss in the event of collisions and vibrations. Compared to mechanical hard drives, solid hard drives have an absolute advantage< Br/>


2. Data storage speed: The speed of mechanical hard drives is about 120MB/S, the speed of SATA protocol solid-state drives is about 500MB/S, the speed of NVMe protocol (PCIe 3.0× 2) solid-state drives is about 1800MB/S, and the speed of NVMe protocol (PCIe 3.0× 4) solid-state drives is about 3500MB/S< Br/>


3. Power consumption: Solid state drives also have lower power consumption than mechanical drives< Br/>


4. Weight: Solid state drives are lighter in weight, with a weight reduction of 20-30 grams compared to conventional 1.8-inch drives< Br/>


5. Noise: Due to the lack of mechanical components and flash memory chips, solid hardware has the characteristics of low heat generation and fast heat dissipation, and there is no mechanical motor or fan< Br/>


Seten is a trusted server hardware and solution provider in the global digital process Apply&quo; Spot+Agency&# quo; Model, rapid response, specialized management, and professional and efficient services to assist partners in achieving digital upgrades and winning the new data era. Saitern has three main product lines: Samsung SSD, Memory (RDIMM), SOLIDIGM SSD, and Broadcom network products. It is also an agent for NVIDIA's Melosi network products and the complete XFusion server.
Wechat

12312312
  • 深圳市赛特恩电子有限公司
  • alibaba
  • aliexpress
  • 深圳市赛特恩电子有限公司
  • 深圳市赛特恩电子有限公司
Back 网站首页 新闻资讯 行业动态

固态硬盘和机械硬盘介绍与优缺点分析

日期:2023-11-10 View:50 Tags:固态硬盘
  什么是固态硬盘?
  
  固态驱动器(Solid State Disk或Solid State Drive,简称SSD),俗称固态硬盘。
  
  固态硬盘是用固态电子存储芯片阵列制成的硬盘。
  
  因为台湾英语里把固体电容称为Solid而得名。SSD由控制单元和存储单元(FLASH芯片、DRAM芯片)组成。
  
  固态硬盘在接口的规范和定义、功能及使用方法上与普通硬盘的完全相同,在产品外形和尺寸上基本与普通硬盘一致(新兴的U.2,M.2等形式的固态硬盘尺寸和外形与SATA机械硬盘完全不同)。
  
  被广泛应用于军事、车载、工控、视频监控、网络监控、网络终端、电力、医疗、航空、导航设备等诸多领域。
  
  芯片的工作温度范围很大,商规产品(0~70℃)工规产品(-40~85℃)。虽然成本较高,但是正在普及至DIY市场。
  
  由于固态硬盘的技术与传统硬盘的技术不同,所以产生了不少新兴的存储器厂商。厂商只需购买NAND颗粒,再配适当的控制芯片,编写主控制器代码,就制造了固态硬盘。
  
  新一代的固态硬盘普遍采用SATA-2接口、SATA-3接口、SAS接口、MSATA接口、PCI-E接口、M.2接口、CFast接口、SFF-8639接口和NVME/AHCI协议。
  
  什么是机械硬盘?
  
  机械硬盘即是传统普通硬盘,主要由:盘片,磁头,盘片转轴及控制电机,磁头控制器,数据转换器,接口,缓存等几个部分组成。
  
  磁头可沿盘片的半径方向运动,加上盘片每分钟几千转的高速旋转,磁头就可以定位在盘片的指定位置上进行数据的读写操作。信息通过离磁性表面很近的磁头,由电磁流来改变极性方式被电磁流写到磁盘上,信息可以通过相反的方式读取。硬盘作为精密设备,尘埃是其大敌,所以进入硬盘的空气必须过滤。
  
  机械硬盘中所有的盘片都装在一个旋转轴上,每张盘片之间是平行的,在每个盘片的存储面上有一个磁头,磁头与盘片之间的距离只有0.1μm~0.5μm,较高的水平已经达到 0.005μm~0.01μm,所有的磁头联在一个磁头控制器上,由磁头控制器负责各个磁头的运动。
  
  机械硬盘与固态硬盘优缺点对比
  
  1、防震抗摔性:机械硬盘都是磁碟型的,数据储存在磁碟扇区里。而固态硬盘是使用闪存颗粒(即内存、MP3、U盘等存储介质)制作而成,所以SSD固态硬盘内部不存在任何机械部件,这样即使在高速移动甚至伴随翻转倾斜的情况下也不会影响到正常使用,而且在发生碰撞和震荡时能够将数据丢失的可能性降到最小。相较机械硬盘,固硬占有绝对优势。
  
  2、数据存储速度:机械硬盘的速度约为120MB/S,SATA协议的固态硬盘速度约为500MB/S,NVMe协议(PCIe 3.0×2)的固态硬盘速度约为1800MB/S,NVMe协议(PCIe 3.0×4)的固态硬盘速度约为3500MB/S。
  
  3、功耗:固态硬盘的功耗上也要低于机械硬盘。
  
  4、重量:固态硬盘在重量方面更轻,与常规1.8英寸硬盘相比,重量轻20-30克。
  
  5、噪音:由于固硬属于无机械部件及闪存芯片,所以具有了发热量小、散热快等特点,而且没有机械马达和风扇。
  
  赛特恩,全球数字化进程中值得信赖的服务器硬件及方案提供商. 运用“现货+代理”模式,快速响应,专精经营,以专业高效的服务,协助合作伙伴实现数字化升级,决胜新数据时代。 赛特恩以Samsung SSD、Memory(RDIMM),SOLIDIGM SSD、Broadcom网络产品为三大主营产品线,同时也是NVIDIA迈络思⽹络产品和超聚变XFUSION服务器整机代理商。
Wechat